Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
FoolieCoolie

How can I maximize damage in a badly lost engagement?

Question

So, I started playing tier 8 again after buying the Super Pershing and Ravioli. They're fun and capable tanks, but I find myself in a lost flank too often and it's really frustrating. For example: A typical city map, I have one flank covered in my Super Pershing. At this point, I usually get 1200 damage or less done before my teammates die off and I get flanked from all directions. 

I have no problem dying in a lost flank if it holds out long enough - usually enough for me to do 2400 damage and above - but It seems most heavy tank engagements last for a 3 to 5 minutes before my teammates die. Is there any way I can contribute to holding up a flank better or squeeze in more damage? Things I thought about so far:

1. I can try to take shots for allies. This may work, but I'm doubting the trade-off value in risking my health. Tried doing this several times, and it works in cooperation with an aware player, but more often than not, the friendly T34 yolos into enemy fire to get his shot.

2. Play more aggressively to get damage. A more selfish option in which I already assume my teammates are just there to buy time for me (which is far from true, but yeah). Normally, I play safe when brawling, using only standard rounds, engaging when the enemies are distracted by my allies or reloading. Is it better to be more aggressive? Use gold APCR on the Super Pershing? Try and shoot as soon as I reload?

Any other pointers would be much appreciated. If needed, I can try to make a replay to demonstrate what I mean or clarify through text.

5 answers to this question

First I'm gonna respond to your questions. Keep in mind I haven't played in over 2 years, but I doubt WG changed the game enough to make what I'm saying invalid. I've had 1200 matches in the SP however.