breeeze

Advice on high end-ish laptop

13 posts in this topic

A friend asked for some advice for a new laptop and before blindly recommending something when I'm really not an expert I thought I'd ask here.

Requirements:

She has a 2009 MB Pro, the new one should be in a similar "ultrabook" format, light, small, good quality materials with a 15" screen. It's gonna be used as the main work horse doing design work (Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, Muse etc.), so it should bring a decent CPU and I believe dedicated graphics is highly appreciated, also a good IPS (duh) screen. I thought about an XPS 15, but it does seem like quite an expense, so maybe there are alternatives or just straight up better products I don't know about. 1500€ is the limit.

MSI GE62VR or if you need something slim, the stealth.

EDIT: with 1500€ you shuold be able to get a laptop with a 6700/7700HQ with a 1060 with a decent ssd/hdd.

Asus makes some good stuff.  They have a ton of options that are pretty thin and light, and the build quality has impressed me (currently using an Asus Q550L (I think)).

Not sure what the prices are in EU but did a quick check on a website and it seems that the GE62 VR is out of the price range.

https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/products/90682619/asus-rog-gl502vm-fy292.asp

https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/products/90682625/asus-rog-gl702vm-gc234.asp

Don't really know where to check for best prices over in EU so I can't say much more than this.

May have to go for a model with a 1050Ti if dedicated graphics and more ram are needed.

Something with an i7, a large amount of ram, and a dedicated GPU of some sort would be what you're looking for. The actual specifics shouldn't matter too much unless you want to run some demanding games on it too.

13 hours ago, Fulcrous said:

Not sure what the prices are in EU but did a quick check on a website and it seems that the GE62 VR is out of the price range.