AdrianK

Need a good explainer of random distribution for Pubbehs

9 posts in this topic

I'm a math/stats noob, but I need help explaining some math/stats concepts to some pubbehs.  

Can someone please point me in the direction of a good explanation that would answer the bolded part of the question below?  In my own noob way I believe it's just normal random distribution (if that's what it's called?)

Given this site is about denying the deniers, and this will have come up a gazillion times before, I imagine there's some good resources already out there.  

Please note: resources with pictures and a low vocabulary are probably going to be the most effective.

If MM is supposed to be Randomly selecting teams and not taking WR/HR etc.. into account why are we getting unbalanced teams, is MM flawed by design/bad coding or is MM designed to "rig" the games randomly with assistance of RNG and other game mechanics. 

True random (and pseudorandom) doesn't imply equal distribution or uniformity at all.

quasirandom1.jpg

If you want completely balanced teams (tank variation, player skill, what have you), the MM would in fact have to be less random.

The person you quoted assumed that randomness = balance and he is right and wrong at the same time.

He can test his hypothesis easily for himself by rolling 15 dice and adding them up, then repeat the process and compare both sums. This example disregards WR (each player is represented by a random unweighted d6).

I think no sane person would expect that paired sums are always the same but it is likely that they are around a sum of 52 or 53 often and, even better, if you do this test about 10000 times, the distribution of unbalanced results tends to be the same.

In that sense rendomness is indeed balanced in so far that every player that plays enough games tends to have the same single imbalances.