Totenstanz

1742 creepypasta

Forward:
The account written below was not written to insult, or provoke anyone. Instead, it was written to entertain and inform. I'm not a professional writer, so don't expect perfect grammar or the most eloquent phrasing.
What I have written is the truth, and whether you believe me or not doesn't really matter to me. I wrote this account because I believe the more people who know, what I've gone through today, the safer I will be.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Something weird happened today while the forums were experiencing that "1742" thing. I was just going around to the different threads trying to see if any of them could be viewed, but all of them were just blank except for the number "1742." I know a lot of other people saw this happen too. There was so much chatter about it in everyone's status updates.

However, I continued to try different topics. One after the other they all came up the same way. I kind of got a little frustrated, but then I started to think about what could be causing this. I reasoned that it was probably a database error, so I knew there was nothing I could do to fix anything on my end.

I'd almost given up, but then I hit refresh on one of the 1742 pages. The number had changed. I hadn't noticed right away what the number had change to, just simply that it had. Then as I realized what the number had changed to I began to get a little amused. You see the number had changed to "Arty Hater."

At this point, I thought of course I hate arty, but most people do. Perhaps this is just a clever little Easter egg for people to discover in the event that the website malfunctioned, like it was doing today.