Elvenlord

So... About coding?

Hey gents! I know many of you are coders, some are even self taught. So, If one was interested in learning to code, what is the best methodology to use? As far as self learning goes, where would one start? I guess I mean what language would be best to start learning in? Also, what free, cause cheapskate, options are there out there for self learning?

Python, Java, C++ are all decent languages to start with and will pretty much form the basis of your programming knowledge. Most languages don't differ from each other too much outside of syntax and names, so the important thing is to grasp the concept of good coding practices.

Methodology: trial and error, read the documentation (google is your friend) for instructions and shortcuts. If you hit a problem chances are somebody else also did, and have already solved it one way or another. Again, just google stuff and apply what you learn.

Most of the time you'll end up like this:

my-code-doesnt-work.jpg

Thanks, some background. My sister is interested in possiblely learning. She is a freshman. I know there are some classes offered online through our state, but I also knew many of you did coding and wanted to get some more info.

I find that learning a low-level language like Z80 (pretty much direct machine code) really helped improve my understanding of others, and use up less memory than more conventional methods. Lot more math though.

I'd start out with something like C++ or Python though, because high-level languages like those are pretty newbie-friendly.

HTML is really difficult for me, idk why. I guess I'm just bad.

I find that learning a low-level language like Z80 (pretty much direct machine code) really helped improve my understanding of others, and use up less memory than more conventional methods. Lot more math though.