Sign in to follow this  
EldritchDwarf

Haven't made a build in a while. Need help.

Currently I'm running off of my laptop and playing games on low to minimum settings isn't really cutting it for me anymore. I want to run games on max settings quickly and quietly. Currently most of my gaming is WoT, but I am interested in current and upcoming games like Alien Isolation (already bought, but haven't installed), The Witcher 3, and The Division. I want this build to last for a while, so that I can gradually upgrade it.

Some stuff to take into consideration:

• I have no experience OCing, but I am interested in it and want to try it after learning how to do it properly and after I've used the computer for a couple months.
  • I have no experience with water cooling.
  • I'm thinking about maybe trying streaming, but I'm not sure whether I'd do it at this point.

My price range is around $2,000, but I may be willing to go higher if there are parts you think would give me better performance. (I'm just in the planning stages and can wait longer if need be)

The build.

Some questions I have:

• Is it worth it for me to spring for the GTX 980 or should I stick with the GTX 970?
  • Also same question, but i7-4790K or i5-4690K?
  • I also recently realized the HDD that I put on pcpartpicker had lots of people complaining about it failing, so I was wondering do you guys have any suggestions on what to replace it with? I originally picked it because I thought "this doesn't seem too much compared to the 1GB and 2GB of the same brand", so I probably should have looked a bit more closely at reviews on newegg instead of just basing it completely off of pcpartpicker ratings like an idiot.
  • Also is the G930 a good wireless headset? I tend to stretch the wires on my wired headsets, so if I have a wireless one I figure it'd last much longer. Plus it is on sale on Amazon for $89.99 and I have $70 in my Amazon balance.