Looking at upgrading my PC in light of my 4-year-old laptop's demise. I want a decent gaming rig, but I also want to keep some mobility.

I've never been one who much cares about running stuff on "extreme" graphics. As long as it plays smooth I'm usually okay. I've been paying tanks on the lowest possible settings for 4-5 years, for instance. I also don't have games I want enough to custom-build to, so general gaming performance is the main priority. WoT, WoWS, and maybe AW are the only ones i know I'm likely to play.  My planned budget was around $1000, but that's mostly a flexible guesstimate. I don't know enough to know what the price points are.

I also don't know whether real gaming laptops have become possible or not. Am I going to be better off putting my whole budget into a higher grade laptop?Or should I get a cheap laptop for my mobile non-gaming needs and then put the rest into a desktop? Are there any particular hardware or places I should look at to start off on either front? 

TIA.

The only "gaming laptops" that are worth a damn for running games good enough are well over $3000.

$1000 should get you a decent desktop. There were some pretty good deals on newegg/amazon and online stores during blackfriday but unfortunately those are over now. However there still might be some deals right before christmas. I don't know your situation but considering you said you were using a laptop previously, you will need a monitor and keyboard as well if you didn't factor that in yet.

If you end up deciding getting a desktop and a laptop for mobility as well, the cheapest HP Stream 11 is a shitty laptop that can do browsing and stuff, but it comes with a free year of office 365 and 1tb of cloud storage for $200. I thought I recalled it being cheaper in the past but if you have use for office and cloud  storage, it boils down to the laptop being $100 and office and cloud storage being $100 so not too bad considering value.