Spartan96

Spartan's Chow Hall

How to be (not) Shit @ Cooking

An ongoing series to spread knowledge relating to food preparation 

About Me: 

Most know me as either Spartan96 or A_UselessReptile, world of tanks player and general chat whore. I'm a line cook and server for a regionally renowned restaurant.

I have worked fast food, short order, and finally sit down establishments in the short 3 years since I have become old enough to join the work force.

Introduction: 

I'll be periodically updating this when I learn something new from work or someone else has something to contribute, think of it like the ongoing WOT article series but with cooking tips and tricks. 

But first lets go over things I think are absolutely necessary for all you guys and gals who live in their first apartment or in a small Uni. dormitory. 

- Rice cooker - For obvious reasons , economical (low power and heat draw, aren't typically banned by dorm statutes) 

- Electric Skillet/Frying Pan - For a pretty good multiple use appliance that can function as a frying pan, skillet, or even steamer. 

- Tongs - Glorious tongs function as an extension of your hand without prospect of fucking burning the shit out of your hand. Also make for good defense against hungry buggers who steal bits of food before dinner time.

- Oven Bags - A great substitute for a grill or a gas burner.

All of these are completely your choice to get but I find get the most use with the least amount of money or time invested. For all you experienced folks of the middle age I'm sure you already have these handy.

Personal Favorite Dish: London Broil w/ Roasted Potatoes and Caesar salad

An impromptu guide on preparing just about any cut of beef but more specifically those that are a little heavier on muscle and by default typically cheaper (also applies to sirloins of varying quality)