Sign in to follow this  
TAdoo87

Planning of a programing project

Hey guys,

I would like to ask your help. I am going to start a project at my company. The coding project is not too small, so it will take me several weeks to finish it, but before I can start it, I have to create a financial plan.
Here comes the issue: I have a really hard time to estimate the time requirement of each task.
A little bit about my background: I am an engineer, and I didn't learn any serious programing, but I rather educated myself. I am familiar with the basics of project planing, and I am sure I am able to finish the project.
If you guys could give me any hint how to estimate the time requirement of the programing tasks, that would be greate. 

Any help is appreciated.

I always write pseudocode first, then the comments for each specific piece, and then the final code. It really helps with planning things out, although I don't think there's a good way to tell how much time writing each function will take.

If you can break it down into a series of simple tasks, then you can probably get a decent ballpark estimate of how many days it will take. YMMV.

I suck at time planning, but from my experience this will always happen when you try to plan something:

• Your boss/responsable/coworker will need help or whatever and you need to stop what you are doing
  • The phone starts ringing
  • Client calls and you have to explain stuff you would rather not explain or explain when you're done
  • Client/coworker/commercial department will spam you with emails asking when your're done

Therefore, no matter what you will estimate for your time consumption, add a good 10% for all this stuff. If you're lucky enough that this never happens then I quite envy you.

To try and give an estimate, take a previous simillar work you've done (even if it's smaller work) and check the timings,