Nalok

Looking for a ship upgrade guide

Hi guys,

I'm new to WoWS having been a tanker for a while now. I went through the stickied thread for some of the basics, and I'm slowly starting to get an idea. I found the Captain skill thread pretty handy as well.

Ship upgrades however are still a bit unclear to me. I can read what it says in game obviously, but I was wondering as in WoT if there are your bread and butter upgrades, and some that are just not worth it despite maybe looking good on paper?

Is there any guide on the subjet? Or could anyone give me a quick heads up for the basic shiptypes what the "upgrades to have are"?

Thanks in advance,

-Nalok

Generally speaking hulls are the first thing you upgrade followed by either gun range or speed. It's allot more basic than WOT honestly. Skills would be more dependant on what ship line your taking, right now I'm on my cellphone but I'm sure someone smarter than me will put something up

The hull often gives you more of everything and this is, alas, not always easy to discern. Some ships get an extra torpedoe per launcher, some even get additional guns. All get more hitpoints and often better maneuverability, which is always uselful.

Some DDs (Destroyers) are an exception to this rule. IJN DDs often gain little from the better hull and should go better torps first. USN DDs have C hulls that sacrifice a gun for better AA, most people do not equip this hull in random battles.

Finally Cruisers that have no armor (most of the Ru line and some others) and thus rely on range can get a range upgrade first. Do not do this on the Chapayev (tier VIII) though as the Chapayev gets it's radar consumbale with the better hull...

Engines are useful upgrades, but usually the last one I get. Some ships have plenty of range stock too, such as NC with 21km range stock, 23 with FCS upgrade, in which case, FCS is last.