BeLiAL124

Best antivirus program

I am looking for an antivirus (free preferably), I have been using Avast for the last 2 years but i'm not sure how good it really was.

The biggest thing I am looking for is SPEED!..I don't want anything that will slow down my pc boot times and overall performance.

I used to run AVG, but I've been running without protection ever since I got the comp I'm running now. It didn't seem to do anything other than annoy me.

I haven't lost all my money.

Yet.

But I think MSE is thought of as shit by those knowlegeable in this stuff. They recommend Avast or Avira. Latter is faster.

I am looking for an antivirus (free preferably), I have been using Avast for the last 2 years but i'm not sure how good it really was.

The biggest thing I am looking for is SPEED!..I don't want anything that will slow down my pc boot times and overall performance.

It's an interesting trade-off isn't it? Endure a slower PC because your paranoid AV monitors ALL THE THINGS ALL THE TIME, or get something that is fast (but might not be as good) and endure nuking your OS occasionally because you clicked on something stupid.

Really, MSE + not clicking on stupid things has worked for me so far. You can even disable the real-time protection to eliminate any performance hit, but you'd have to be a thrill seeker. And really good at not clicking on stupid things. :smug:

I've been using AVG on my laptop and Avira on the PC back home and haven't had any issues with them. I think MSE has gotten weaker over time and there are better options available atm. Some people recommend Avast, but I didn't have pleasant experiences with it (it reported my very basic C program as a virus and didn't let me open it even when I set up an exception and later it was a PITA to uninstall).